Emotional Unfaithfulness


“You have heard that it was said, ‘You shall not commit adultery.’ But I tell you that anyone who looks at a woman lustfully has already committed adultery with her in his heart.” — Matthew 5:27-28

There is a constant allure for emotional connection between a woman and a man. A pure motive of care for someone other than your spouse can easily turn into emotional unfaithfulness. An emotional needy woman at work will give signs to seeking men who are unfulfilled at home. It seems exciting and inviting, but in the end—it wrecks homes.
This juvenile junket flies into the face of what Jesus wants and expects. Married couples are meant to fulfill their emotional needs within their marriage experience. This is why it’s imperative to process past and present pain in a healthy manner, so communication and care can flourish, thus feeding each other’s emotional desires. Husbands and wives hunger for emotional wholeness with the one they have become “one flesh” with under God’s purview.

“That is why a man leaves his father and mother and is united to his wife, and they become one flesh” (Genesis 2:24).
Is the bond with your spouse beyond the surface of superficial sex? Remember those long talks you had before you were married? When was the last time you processed your feelings together in a meaningful conversation? It may mean holding hands, looking each other in the eyes and apologizing for hurting his or her heart. Engaged emotions stay engaged.

Husbands if you are emotionally dead, you will kill your marriage. Learn to loosen up and express how you feel. Yes, it is uncomfortable to be vulnerable, but this is a process that God blesses in growing your relationship with your wife. And wives, do not look for emotional support from a man that’s not your husband. Stay focused on Christ’s comfort, seek out professional help to heal your heart—and learn how to approach your husband.

Emotional faithfulness causes a marriage to flourish with fulfilling encounters of loving communication and care. A statement like, “I am sorry you had to experience that pain”, begins to describe your dialogue. You simply listen, to learn and enter into their hurting heart, instead of prescribing solutions and offering pep talks. Emotional fidelity finds a home in relationships that seek to understand, comfort, and offer hope and timely truth.

Most of all—seek together truth found in God’s word. Ignorance of proven principles that build healthy marriages is a recipe for relational disaster. Invite the Holy Spirit to jointly instruct your minds and to knit your humble hearts together in love and kindness. Seek out other married couples to learn from that are good models of emotional faithfulness.

“That their hearts may be encouraged, being knit together in love, and attaining to all riches of the full assurance of understanding, to the knowledge of the mystery of God, both of the Father and of Christ, in whom are hidden all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge” (Colossians 2:2-3).

What relationship do I need to avoid because it is creating emotional unfaithfulness?

By Boyd Bailey

4 thoughts on “Emotional Unfaithfulness

  1. I signed up for these emails and it seems just at the right moment when I’m feeling scraed and alone this word comes and it speaks on the topic that is my problem. I don’t know what to do because my husband has been in Afgahainstan working and I have discovered he has been talking to other women.He is furious at me for looking into it and blames me because I have driven him crazy.There are 6 children involved in this and I am in a great amount of suffering and pain. I barely have strenght to take care of them and I haven’t taken care of myself. I can’t eat or sleep and have just been put on medicine to. Help cope. I am seeking God my prayer is that he shows me my path. Please pray for situation. Thank you

  2. I am in a great amount of turmoil & suffering. It seems like these emails comes in and hits right on target with what is happening in my life. My husband has been working in Afgahainstan for over 2 years and for the past 5 months I have found out he has been talking to other women. He used to be a Godly man but now he has so much anger that he has lost faith in everything. He is very angry at me for digging and finding out and blames me. I am not sure if i should of left it alone or what. I have been trying to turn to God for guidance and strenght but i do believe i am in a spirutal attack. I do not want to let go but i have pushed him away and he says we are going to divorce. My prayer is for God to direct my path and give me strenght to take care of myself and 6 children. I can not eat or sleep and my mind is not at peace. Please any prayer will help.
    Thank you

  3. Dearest Jammie,

    It’s been a while since you wrote your comments. We want you to know that we’ve been praying for you ever since. We hope that you are doing well with your marriage, children, and everything.

    You are a very strong woman and God is always there whenever you need him.

    Just remember this message below

    “The temptations in your life are no different from what others experience. And God is faithful. He will not allow the temptation to be more than you can stand. When you are tempted, he will show you a way out so that you can endure.” – 1 corinthians 10:13 (NLT)

    Keep the faith. God bless you and keep you.

  4. Let me thank you for your prayer & concern. I have been praying and am very happy to say that God has moved in this situation. My husband and i are getting back on track and i continue to pray that God stays in the middle of this marriage. It is very hard being seperated. I pray that God opens a door for my husband to come home and work. My faith is staying stong🙂 Once again thank you for the prayers it means alot and i love your devotionals

Leave a Reply

