No Favoritism


Do not mistreat foreigners who are living in your land. – Leviticus 19:33 (TEV)

I had been away from home in another country for about six months. One day, I found a store that sold a kind of ice cream I hadn’t eaten for a long time. I tried to explain what I wanted, but the clerks couldn’t understand me. I pointed to the ice cream and tried to say the words in their language, but the women just laughed at me. Eventually, I got what I wanted, but I did not enjoy it because I felt alone in this foreign country.

Then God reminded me of a time a few weeks earlier when I had been in my home country of Australia. I had met a Korean girl who did not speak English well. I knew that she was lonely; I talked to her a few times, but mostly I avoided her. Having a conversation with someone who didn’t speak my language well was difficult. But when I experienced being misunderstood in another country, I wished I had made more effort to befriend her.

God created the people of all nations and wants us to show no favoritism. God asks us to truly love the strangers in our midst.

By Nola Passmore

Prayer

Dear God, thank you for loving the people of all nations. Please help us to see people as you do and to love them unconditionally. Amen.

Leave a Reply

