Bible Verses on Strength


Life is a collection of ups and downs. Everyone faces times of doubt, discouragement, anxiety, distress, or depression at some point in life. When those times happen, we need to pull some spiritual strength to go through trials and win over them. Without it we will be defeated easily.

The Bible is full of inspiration and wisdom to help people in such situations claim the strength God wants to give them. The following Bible verses (NIV) are collected to help anyone in need of strength.

Please note that these verses are taken out of their original context. Please read the whole respective chapter for better understanding of each verse.

  1. Exodus 15:2
    The LORD is my strength and my song; he has become my salvation. He is my God, and I will praise him, my father’s God, and I will exalt him.
  2. Deuteronomy 31:6
    Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.”
  3. 2 Samuel 22:33
    It is God who arms me with strengthand makes my way perfect.
  4. 1 Chronicles 16:11
    Look to the LORD and his strength; seek his face always.
  5. 2 Chronicles 16:9
    For the eyes of the LORD range throughout the earth to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to him. You have done a foolish thing, and from now on you will be at war.”
  6. Nehemiah 8:10
    Nehemiah said, “Go and enjoy choice food and sweet drinks, and send some to those who have nothing prepared. This day is sacred to our Lord. Do not grieve, for the joy of the LORD is your strength.”
  7.  Job 4:4
    Your words have supported those who stumbled; you have strengthened faltering knees.
  8. Psalm 18:32-34
    It is God who arms me with strength and makes my way perfect. He makes my feet like the feet of a deer; he enables me to stand on the heights. He trains my hands for battle; my arms can bend a bow of bronze.
  9. Psalm 21:13
    Be exalted, O LORD, in your strength; we will sing and praise your might.
  10. Psalm 22:19
    But you, O LORD, be not far off; O my Strength, come quickly to help me.
  11. Psalms 23:5
    You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.
  12. Psalms 27:1
    The LORD is my light and my salvation—whom shall I fear? The LORD is the stronghold of my life— of whom shall I be afraid?
  13. Psalm 28:7-8
    The LORD is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and I am helped. My heart leaps for joy and I will give thanks to him in song.  The LORD is the strength of his people, a fortress of salvation for his anointed one.
  14. Psalm 29:11
    The LORD gives strength to his people; the LORD blesses his people with peace.
  15. Psalm 31:24
    Be strong and take heart, all you who hope in the LORD.
  16. Psalm 46:1
    God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.
  17. Psalm 59:9
    O my Strength, I watch for you; you, O God, are my fortress,
  18. Psalm 59:17
    O my Strength, I sing praise to you; you, O God, are my fortress, my loving God.
  19. Psalm 68:35
    You are awesome, O God, in your sanctuary; the God of Israel gives power and strength to his people. Praise be to God!
  20. Psalm 73:26
    My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.
  21. Psalm 105:4
    Look to the LORD and his strength; seek his face always.
  22. Psalm 118:14
    The LORD is my strength and my song; he has become my salvation.
  23. Psalm 119:28
    My soul is weary with sorrow; strengthen me according to your word.
  24. Psalms 138:3
    When I called, you answered me; you made me bold and stouthearted.
  25. Proverbs 8:14
    Counsel and sound judgment are mine; I have understanding and power.
  26. Isaiah 12:2
    Surely God is my salvation; I will trust and not be afraid. The LORD, the LORD, is my strength and my song; he has become my salvation.”
  27. Isaiah 30:15
    This is what the Sovereign LORD, the Holy One of Israel, says: “In repentance and rest is your salvation, in quietness and trust is your strength, but you would have none of it.
  28. Isaiah 33:2
    O LORD, be gracious to us; we long for you. Be our strength every morning, our salvation in time of distress.
  29. Isaiah 40:29-31
    He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak.  Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.
  30. Isaiah 41:10
    So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.
  31. Isaiah 43:2
    When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze.
  32. Isaiah 58:11
    The LORD will guide you always; he will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land and will strengthen your frame. You will be like a well-watered garden, like a spring whose waters never fail.
  33. Jeremiah 16:19
    O LORD, my strength and my fortress, my refuge in time of distress, to you the nations will come from the ends of the earth and say, “Our fathers possessed nothing but false gods,worthless idols that did them no good.
  34. Daniel 10:19
    “Do not be afraid, O man highly esteemed,” he said. “Peace! Be strong now; be strong.” When he spoke to me, I was strengthened and said, “Speak, my lord, since you have given me strength.”
  35. Habakkuk 3:19
    The Sovereign LORD is my strength; he makes my feet like the feet of a deer, he enables me to go on the heights. For the director of music. On my stringed instruments.
  36. Matthew 11:28-30
    “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”
  37. Mark 12:30
    Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.’
  38. Mark 12:33
    To love him with all your heart, with all your understanding and with all your strength, and to love your neighbor as yourself is more important than all burnt offerings and sacrifices.”
  39. Luke 10:27
    He answered: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’; and, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’”
  40. Luke 22:43
    An angel from heaven appeared to him and strengthened him.
  41. Acts 9:19
    and after taking some food, he regained his strength.
  42. 1 Corinthians 10:13
    No temptation has seized you except what is common to man. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can stand up under it.
  43. 1 Corinthians 15:57
    But thanks be to God! He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.
  44. 1 Corinthians 16:13
    Be on your guard; stand firm in the faith; be men of courage; be strong.
  45. 2 Corinthians 12:9-10
    But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.  That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.
  46. Ephesians 3:16
    I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being,
    Ephesians 6:10-11

    Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. Put on the full armor of God so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes.
  47. Phillipians 4:13
    I can do everything through him who gives me strength.
  48. Colossians 1:10-12
    And we pray this in order that you may live a life worthy of the Lord and may please him in every way: bearing fruit in every good work, growing in the knowledge of God, being strengthened with all power according to his glorious might so that you may have great endurance and patience, and joyfully giving thanks to the Father, who has qualified you to share in the inheritance of the saints in the kingdom of light.
  49. Colossians 2:6-7
    So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live in him, rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness.
  50. 1 Thessalonians 3:13
    May he strengthen your hearts so that you will be blameless and holy in the presence of our God and Father when our Lord Jesus comes with all his holy ones.
  51. 2 Thessalonians 2:16-17
    May our Lord Jesus Christ himself and God our Father, who loved us and by his grace gave us eternal encouragement and good hope, encourage your hearts and strengthen you in every good deed and word.
  52. 2 Thessalonians 3:3
    But the Lord is faithful, and he will strengthen and protect you from the evil one.
  53. 2 Timothy 4:17
    But the Lord stood at my side and gave me strength, so that through me the message might be fully proclaimed and all the Gentiles might hear it. And I was delivered from the lion’s mouth.
  54. Hebrews 13:6
    So we say with confidence, “The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid. What can man do to me?”
  55. 1 Peter 4:11
    If anyone speaks, he should do it as one speaking the very words of God. If anyone serves, he should do it with the strength God provides, so that in all things God may be praised through Jesus Christ. To him be the glory and the power forever and ever. Amen.
  56. Revelation 7:12
    saying:  “Amen! Praise and glory and wisdom and thanks and honor and power and strength be to our God for ever and ever. Amen!”

3 thoughts on “Bible Verses on Strength

  1. 2 Chronicles 16:9 (NIV) – For the eyes of the Lord range throughout the earth to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to him. You have done a foolish thing, and from now on you will be at war.

    I can connect with these words above,I had a demonic snake wrapped around my body for over twenty three years and then this happened to me. When I finish writing out my testimony I will send it to your blog.

    http://christianfaithandfellowsh.createaforum.com/topics/i-started-to-read-the-word-of-god-look-what-happened/

Leave a Reply

