A Lot On Your Plate?


“From the end of the earth I will cry to You, when my heart is overwhelmed; lead me to the rock that is higher than I.” — Psalm 61:2, NKJV

Ever felt overwhelmed? Got too much on your plate? Feel overloaded? Too many demands? Deadlines? Pressures? Decisions? Too many people pulling on you? Not enough margin?I have! Like many of you, I know the feeling of surviving with one nostril above water. I know what it’s like to feel stretched to your gills! So, what do you do?

When your heart is overwhelmed, cry out to the Lord and follow Him to a secret place in the Rock!

Remember when Moses asked to see God’s glory? Here’s what the Lord said,”Then the LORD said, ‘There is a place near Me where you may stand on a rock. When My glory passes by, I will put you in a cleft in the rock and cover you with My hand….’” (Exodus 33:21-22, NIV)

When we cry out to the Lord, He will take us to a place near Him! Isn’t that a reassuring and comforting thought? He’ll help us stand on a rock and He’ll cover us! I don’t know about you, but when I am feeling overloaded, it is nice to know God has me covered in a place by Him!

In that place near Him – God injects us with “grace for the pace” and gives us an endowment of His ability, His strength and an increased capacity to do what He’s called us to do.

If you have a lot on your plate today…cry out to Him!

And then after that…take a break…do something fun and refreshing…go for a motorcycle ride…go to a coffee shop…or something – just go do something!

Say It: “Father, help! I am crying out to You. I have so much on my plate and it is sometimes overwhelming. I know there is ‘grace for the pace’ – so today, I ask You to hide me in that secret place near You and load me with more and more grace so that I am infused with Your ability, Your strength and an increased capacity to do all You have called me to do. Thank You for the chance to take a break and do something fun and refreshing! In Jesus Name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

